What we do in Eugene matters.

Meet Lucy

Lucy Vinis was elected Mayor of Eugene in 2016 and took office in January 2017.

As a resident of Eugene for 28 years, Lucy Vinis has worked on behalf of the community through her professional career and as a dedicated volunteer. Drawn to Eugene’s natural beauty, inviting community, and quality schools, she relocated here from Washington, DC with her late husband, Lawrence Vinis to raise her two sons.


In her professional career, Lucy worked for nonprofits addressing policies around land use, natural resources, agriculture, housing, and homelessness. As mayor, her priorities continue to be addressing the dual challenges of climate change and population growth; increasing the supply of housing people can afford; supporting efforts to stabilize people experiencing homelessness; and encouraging equitable economic development.

As mayor, she has chaired the Ad Hoc Work Group on Eugene’s Climate Recovery Ordinance, and the Ad Hoc Committee on the Protection of Individuals and Groups, leading to the adoption of Eugene’s sanctuary ordinance. She is the current chair of the Metropolitan Policy Committee, a member of the Public Safety Coordinating Council, and a board member of the Oregon Regional Accelerator and Innovation Network (RAIN), which promotes and supports homegrown emerging businesses. She also serves on the Poverty & Homelessness Board and the HOME Board, which oversees the granting and allocation of federal housing funds.

She is focused increasingly on championing Eugene’s emergency preparedness programs, and on creating a culture of inclusiveness as Eugene grows from a large town to a small city and emerges on the world stage.



Endorsing Lucy Vinis in her

2020 re-election


Business Leaders

Eugene Realtor Association

NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC

United Academics of UO, AAUP- AFT Local 3209

Teamsters Council 37

Many Rivers Group, Sierra Club

Lane Professional Firefighters, Local 851 

Lane County Central Labor Chapter (Oregon AFL-CIO)

United Food & Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 555

SEIU Local 503

Oregon League of Conservation Voters 

Eugene Education Association 

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 280

Eugene Police Employees Association

Basic Rights Oregon Equality PAC (Green Light) 

Jen Bell, Owner of bell+funk
Teresa Damron, Owner of Sperry Tree Care

Shawn Donnille, Owner of Mountain Rose Herbs
Dave Funk, Owner of bell+funk
Isaac Judd, Owner of Hearthstone Real Estate
Thomas Pettus-Czar, Owner of the Barn Light

Julie Tilt, Owner of Hummingbird Wholesale

Marilyn Milne, Owner of Public Relations Services

Sherie Hawley, Owner of Hawley & Associates Real Estate

Elected Leaders

Congressman Peter DeFazio

Labor Commissioner Val Hoyle
Former Mayor Kitty Piercy
City Councilor Alan Zelenka
City Councilor Claire Syrett
City Councilor Jennifer Yeh
City Councilor Chris Pryor
State Senator James Manning
State Senator Floyd Prozanski 

State Representative Paul Holvey
State Representative Marty Wilde
Former State Representative Phil Barnhart
East Lane County Commissioner Heather Buch 
LCC Board Member Rosie Pryor
LCC Board Member Lisa Fragala

LCC Board Member Melanie Muenzer
4J Board Member Judy Newman
4J Board Member Mary Walston
4J Board Member Martina Shabram
4J Board Member Gordon Lafer

EWEB Commissioner Sonya Carlson
EWEB Commissioner Mindy Schlossberg


Community Leaders

Larry Abel
Bart Aikens
Roman Anderson
Beverly Barr
Douglas Bovee
Charlotte Brandt
Bob Bussell
Pam Camblin
Sean Camblin
Joanne Carbon
Douglas Carnine
Linda Carnine
Joel Cherrytree
Tom Connolly
Gary Cornelius
Ibrahim Coulihaly
Cheryl Crumbley

Caroline Cummings
Sierra Dameron
Julie Daniel
Kate Davidson
Matthew Dawson
Christopher Dean
Edith Derven
Dan Diestand
David Duemler
Ruth Duemler
Lynne Fabricant
Meredeth Ferrell
Angela Pruce-Finneran
Greg Fitz-Gerald

Rebecca Flynn

Laurie Funkhouser
John Gent
Kathy Ging
Jim Glang
Patrick Glang
Jeff  Goldenberg
Jennifer Gordon
Cliff Gray
Sloan Heermance
Greg Hill
Ann Hinnen
Jerry Jacobson
Derek Johnson
Kelly Johnson
Shelley Johnson
Emily Keizer
Greta Keyes
Peter Keyes
Naomi Kirtner
Peter Knox
John Koelling
Nonie Koelling
Patricia Krier
Lee Lashway
Erika Leaf
Elizabeth Lorish
Fred Lorish
Joy Marshall
Robert Melnick
Harriet Merrick

Walter Meyer

Ellen Miuter
Emily Mooney
Katherine Moyer
Ken Neubeck
Karuna Neustadt
Kevin O'Brien
Sandi Orbell
Marshall Peter
Robert Pinger
Tai Pruce-Zimmerman
Carleen Reilly
Pat Reilly
John Reynolds
Mike Richardson
Jana Rygas
Minalee Saks
Thelma Soderquist
Dan Solitz
Liora Sponko
Kelli Ann Stiles
Laurie Strother
Denise Syrett
Charlie Tilt
Laurie Trieger
Bob Unler
Bob Watada
Lynette Williams
Rob Zako
Dick  Zeller
Ty Zeller